27/08/2020 Society, Polity

National Council for Transgender Persons

✓The Centre has constituted the national council for transgender persons, headed by the Union social justice minister and comprising representatives from 10 central departments, five states and members of the community.

✓ formed under Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019 – was announced in a gazette notification.
✓According to the legislation, the council has five main functions –

*advising the central government on the formulation of policies, programmes, legislation and projects with respect to transgender persons;

*monitoring and evaluating the impact of policies and programmes designed for achieving equality and full participation of transgender persons

*reviewing and coordinating the activities of all the departments;

*redressing grievances of transgender persons; and

* performing such other functions as prescribed by the Centre

✓The council will have joint secretary-level members from the ministries of health, home, minority affairs, education, rural development, labour and law. In addition, there will be a member from the department of pensions, Niti Aayog, National Human Rights Commission and National Commission for Women.

✓Representatives from five states or Union Territories, on a rotational basis, will be members of the commission. The first such clutch comprises Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Tripura and Gujarat.

✓Five members of the community and five experts, from non-governmental organisations, have also been named to the commission. The tenure of the community members and expert shall be three years.



0 responses on "27/08/2020 Society, Polity"

    Leave a Message

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    © Gallantias 2023 All rights reserved.